Location: Royal Library is located in the
Characteristic: The Royal Library was the only monument undamaged in the
Forbidden Citadel after the reoccupation of Hue by French troops in early 1947.
It is the pavilion where the Emperors Nguyen came for reading and resting.
In 1821, by order of Emperor Minh Mang, a building was erected west of the Thieu
Phuong Garden (Garden of Lingering Aroma), called the Tri Nhan Mansion (Mansion
of Intellect and Mercy). It was later improved and renamed Thanh Ha Thu Lau
(Writing Pavilion) by Emperor Thieu Tri, and then, by Dong Khanh as the Royal
Library. This pavilion, elaborately decorated with ceramic mosaics, faces a
square-shaped pond with a lovely rock-garden. Left of the pavilion stands the Tu
Phuong Vo Ngu Pavilion (Pavilion of No Worry) and right of it is the Hoa Nhat
Thu Truong Gallery (Gallery of the Nourishing Sun). On the left of the Bat Phong
Pavilion (Pavilion open to Eight Directions) is a small structure called the Luc
Tri Than Thong Belvedere and on the right is the Than Tu Room (Morale Improving
Room). North of it is the Luc Giac (Hexagonal) Pavilion with Trach Trung Tasist
Temple (Temple of Just Conduct) on the left. In front of this temple is the Duc
Vien House (House of Full Virtue). Bridges and galleries are together connected,
lakes and ponds smoothly flow into one another in a very poetic scenery.