Location: Tu Hieu Pagoda is located at
Duong Xuan Thuong III Hamlet in Thuy Xuan Village, 5km southwest of Hue City.
Characteristic: Pagoda was built in the shape of the Chinese character "Khau"
(mouth), with the main building consisting of three rooms and two wings. It
faces the southeast and uses Ngu Binh Mount as a front screen.
The pagoda was originally a small hut built by Nhat Dinh in 1843, who was
formerly recognized by royal authority as the monk of Giac Hoang Pagoda. In
1848, the pagoda was restored by monk Cung Ky with the help of the king's
eunuchs and courtiers. Tu Hieu hence became a large pagoda. In 1894, it was
rebuilt by Cuong Ky with the support of King Thanh Thai and the King's eunuchs
created the half-moon lake. In 1962, the pagoda was renovated by Most Ven Chon
Thiet. And in 1971 the three-entrance gate and the staff houses were
rehabilitated by senior monk Chi Niem. The main sanctuary is devoted to the
worship of Buddha. Behind there is a room honoring former monks of the pagoda.
Across a courtyard, the Quang Hieu Duong Hall houses an altar dedicated to local
Buddhist devotees on the right, another to the deity Quan Cong in the center,
and a third to eunuchs on the left. A separate altar in this hall honors Le Van
Duyet, an outstanding mandarin during the reign of Emperor Gia Long. On the left
side of the courtyard is the living quarters of the monks (Ta Lac Thien) and to
Tu Hieu right is the guest-house (Huu Ai Nhat). The entrance gate to the pagoda
is a curved two storey structure. On the second storey, a statue of the guardian
spirit Ho Phap protects the pagoda. Inside the gate is a crescent-lotus pond. On
both sides of the courtyard are stele houses engraved with the history of the