Location: Nguom Ngao Cave located in Gun
Village, Dam Thuy Commune, Trung Khanh District, just 3km from Ban Gioc
Characteristics: Nguom Ngao Cave was formed from weathered age-old
limestone by wind and water. It is considered as one of the most beautiful caves
in northeast of Vietnam.
It is discovered in 1921 by local people then opened for tourists since 1996.
With the length of 2,144m, Nguom Ngao cave is relative enormous, includes three
main entrances. Now, Cao Bang Province only exploits 900m. The scenery in the
interior of the cave is as picturesque as that of a fairly land. Visiting cave,
tourist come in Nguom Luom entrance and go out Nguom Ngao entrance. Go inside
the cave, visitors will be dazzled by wonderful sparking seven-colored
stalactites hanging down from high stone cliffs. Nature is clever to create
stone statues of which some look like human bodies, some look like forest plant,
animals, a fairy combining her hair or a lotus bulb, etc. Visitors can feel the
harmony between stone and water. Cave roof is continuously closed and open,
giving the tourists a big surprise. Stalactites seem to grow from the soil, or
hang down, vertical or horizontal with small and big figures piled and fixed in
a hustle. Nguom Ngao Cave with its primitive beauty creates a natural landscape
that is not only magnificent, attractive but also full of Viet Bac distinction.
It has been awarded as a national landscape by the Ministry of Culture and
Information, drawing attention from domestic and foreign tourists to visit. From
2006, there are asphalted road from Highway 206 to Nguom Ngao site and cement
ways spreading inside cave combined with light systems.